Griffith receives Ed Block Courage Award

Griffith receives Ed Block Courage Award

Falcons FB Justin Griffith was named the Falcons 2005 recipient of the prestigious Ed Block Courage Award. Griffith will receive the award at the 28th Annual Ed Block Courage Awards on March 7 in Baltimore, Maryland.

Justin Griffith was one of 32 players selected to receive the award by their respective teammates for displaying a commitment to the principles of courage and sportsmanship.

Former Falcons Courage Award winners include linebacker Jessie Tuggle, and center Jeff Van Note.

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, a longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts. Block was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian whose most passionate cause was helping children.

Officially formulated in 1986, the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation is a 501 (c)(3) charitable organization that is sanctioned by the NFL and the Professional Football Athletic Trainers Society (PFATS). The Foundation is committed to heightening awareness of the plight of abused children in cities throughout the league.

Proceeds from the annual Courage Awards event benefit the Foundation's Courage House National Support Network For Kids.

Named after the NFL team in a respective NFL city, a Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in that community. Currently, the Network is comprised of more than 50-percent of the teams in the NFL -- Atlanta, Baltimore, Buffalo, Carolina, Chicago, Cleveland, Dallas, Detroit, Indianapolis, Miami, Minneapolis, New York (Giants), Oakland, Pittsburgh, St. Louis, San Francisco and Seattle Recommended Stories

Up Next


3 Fans online
    Join The Conversation